Image of mule deer looking at the camera. Age 3 to 5 years old. Mule deer can grow as large as a horse and are known for their large ears that look like a mule's ears.
These large mule deer can really blend in with the fields around Soap Lake , Ephrata, and Moses Lake Washington. By Yathin S Krishnappa (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
By Nancy Owens

Yesterday a  herd of mule deer crossed the road in front of me. The fawns are now around four months old and straying farther from mom’s side. They took their time in the bright sunshine, coming up the bank from getting a drink of water, then crossing very slowly, curious of the guy in front of me. He was driving a white pickup. We waited, and after they were safely across the road, he gave them a blast with his horn to make sure they got well off the road.

I told a convenience store operator about this, and he started talking about overcrowding and how they all  need to be shot. Said he is a hunter. I say our numbers are still down from what they were 40 years ago and that the herds don’t need to be thinned out yet. Then I said the wrongest thing in history: I suggested we put up DEER CROSSING SIGNS, and that we DRIVE SLOWER in that area. Those deer and the generations before them have always crossed the road right there. We locals should no better than to speed through that area. So I wonder why we couldn’t put up deer crossing signs. I think it would solve a lot of problems, my maybe I am the one who is wrong.

3 thoughts on “Deer Sighting on Stratford Road Near Road 10

Comments are closed.