Author’s Note: 1:43 p.m. The kids have now been cleared to go back to class and will be released at normal time.

This morning, from what I understand, there was a bomb threat at the Soap Lake High School. The kids are in lock down but, have been removed from the area affected at the time of this writing. We are told they are safe and being fed lunch while law enforcement checks the school for threats or explosives.

While this is something I would never want my child to experience, I have to say I am impressed with the handling of the situation by school officials in keeping our kids safe.

Parents: This is a good time to make sure your contact information is up to date. How scary to think your child could be evacuated and the school couldn’t contact you.

Be sure to allow some extra time to talk with your kids about this. It will ease the post traumatic stress they will encounter in the aftermath.

Thank you, first responders, for working to keep our kids safe.

